Ask a LEGO Fan

Sets in the Attic

Posted in Uncategorized by lfanquestions on January 12, 2010

Andreas writes:

Hi,

As my parents recently cleared their attic I had to take over all of my old lego. The sets are from the late 80’s / early 90’s and most are in their original boxes with the instructions. It is mostly city, castle, pirates, technic and some space. I didn’t realize that there was such a huge market for used lego and I have some question concerning the fundamentals of this.

I haven’t yet decided if I should keep it all or try to sell it off but I’m also considering saving them for a while as an investment. How do you expect the future market for lego to evolve?

Does keeping them in sets make them more valuable? Also, how much does the box and instructions add to the value? Some are in quite good shape while others are crushed and torn. Is it wise to keep the sets apart or can I mix them up for my nephews/nieces to play with for the time being and then sort it out if I decide to sell them in the future?

Andreas

Dear Andreas,

All Lego sets will increase in value over time.  Boxes and instructions add 25% or more to the value of a used set.

My recommendation as a fan is to keep the sets.  Vintage sets are great for relatives to play with.  If you ever have children, it can be rewarding to build with them.

Certain old sets are worth hundreds of dollars and include very rare elements.  Research prices of large sets at www.bricklink.com and www.ebay.com.  You may want to build these valuable sets and store them separately from the main collection.

Sincerely,

LFan

Leave a Reply

