Ask a LEGO Fan

Winter Toy Shop Availability

Posted in Marketplace by lfanquestions on December 2, 2009

Joe writes:

LFan,

S@H is currently sold out of the Winter Toy Shop. Please, please,
please tell me I haven’t missed my chance to buy this awesome set!!

Thanks,

Joe

Dear Joe,

This set is sold out on Shop at Home in most countries.  Please contact a local LEGO Brand Store ( http://stores.lego.com/en-US/default.aspx ) to see if they have any copies in stock.  These stores can ship directly to your home for an additional fee.  You may need to purchase the set from the secondary market on BrickLink (http://www.bricklink.com/search.asp?itemID=85675 ).

Sincerely,

LFan

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brad said, on December 5, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    I sent a question into LEGO’s Shop @ Home (U.S.) website – they responded:

    “The product you inquired about has been discontinued from our current product line and we do not expect to receive additional inventory at this time.”

    So, it sounds like there will not be anymore. Whatever is at LEGO stores or available through second-hand is all there will be!

  2. Joanie said, on December 9, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Joe,
    Hi. I had a hard time finiding one to but I have a number you can call. I just ordered my from the Patomic Mills Lego Store 1-703-490-1335. They are in Virginia so you will have to pay for shipping but they still have a small quanity left. i hope this helps & I hope you get one.
    Good Luck!

  3. Joe said, on January 22, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    An update, for the curious… I didn’t see Joanie’s kind suggestion in time and missed my chance to buy from any of the LEGO stores (despite calling several across the country).

    I’ve contacted LEGO directly, and they’re not forthcoming with their plans on this set. The set is selling for (on average) $110 on the secondary market — almost twice it’s original price. They’re currently selling the set to Europeans, but not to the US market.

    It’s logical to assume that the set may be released again this Christmas, but if that doesn’t happen, the re-sale price will have skyrocketed by that time.

    I’m pretty frustrated at the whole thing. The set was available for a matter of weeks, then disappeared without warning. When I received my Holiday catalog with the set on the cover, it had already sold out.

    I think it’s pretty disgusting that so many people bought this set in order to re-sell it. Why should the end-buyers (me) lose the chance to buy a great set because re-sellers bought them first? If LEGO plans to re-release the set in the US, what’s the harm in letting us know ahead of time? And why isn’t the set available in the US currently?


Leave a Reply

