Ask a LEGO Fan

Collecting Classic Space

Posted in Marketplace by lfanquestions on August 21, 2009

Justin writes:

I just got back into Lego, and have decided to go into space. The main problem I have is the fact that I want much more than I can afford anytime soon. I am under 16, so I don’t have that much money, but I don’t have any bills or anything to pay. My question is this: Are the older sets (not classic space, way too expensive) really worth paying the money for if I’m just going to play with them? Also, do you think that the sets out now going to drop in price over the years, or gain in price?

I do realize this is entirely based on opinion, but I would like to know your opinion.

Thanks

Dear Justin,

Collecting vintage sets of a classic theme such as Space can be very enjoyable. Plus, these sets have great pieces which can be incorporated into your Lego creations.

If you have a tight budget, I recommend purchasing sets on eBay instead of BrickLink.com. Research the set numbers and descriptions that you want. Try search results such as “Lego 1978”, “Lego 68**”, “Legoland”, and “Lego System.” By honing your search skills, you will be able to find poorly listed auctions. These auctions often end for a fraction of the regular secondary market prices.

Check out local yard sales and toys on craigslist for old Lego sets. Great deals have been found this way.

The majority of current Space Police sets will likely drop in price when the line is being replaced by a new line. One or two sets from the line may be “instant classics” and increase in value right away. Prices of less popular factions and themes are often very affordable for 10-15 years. Right now, it seems that anything released before 1993 has more value. Eventually the prices of late 1990’s sets will increase.

Good luck in your search for classic sets.
Sincerely,

LFan

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Justin said, on August 21, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    Thanks, I never thought of checking ebay. I’ve already found some sets on ebay for a third of what they cost on bricklink!

  2. librarianchat said, on August 22, 2009 at 1:06 am

    What about garage sales?

  3. philhagan said, on August 22, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Another great place to look are thrift stores. I actually found a still in the box large pirate ship from 7 years ago for $20.


Leave a Reply

